

STATE OF MAINE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 143 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0143

LISA P. HOWARD, DDS, VICE PRESIDENT KENNEBUNK

> AUSTIN J. CARBONE, LD WINDHAM

GLEN S. DAVIS, DMD DAMARISCOTTA

PAUL P. DUNBAR, DDS WINSLOW

NANCY L. FOSTER, RDH, EFDA, EdM HAMPDEN

CATHERINE J. KASPRAK, IPDH FRYEBURG

ROWAN H. MORSE, PUBLIC MEMBER FALMOUTH

> STEPHEN G. MORSE, DMD PORTLAND

July 19, 2016

Informational Letter Regarding Enacted Laws By the Maine State Legislature During the 127th Second Regular Session

There were a number of laws enacted during the last legislative session that directly impact the Maine Board of Dental Examiners. Below is a list of those laws, including their effective dates and implementation status. I've also included Public Law 2016, c. 407 as the Board recently adopted a policy regarding the mandatory training and how the completed training might be used in meeting the continuing education requirements outlined in Chapter 13 of the Board's Rules.

New laws directly impacting Board's statute:

- > Public Law 2016, c. 429 "An Act to Revise the Laws Regarding Dental Practices"
- Public Law 2016, c. 488 "An Act to Prevent Opiate Abuse by Strengthening the Controlled Substances Prescription Monitoring Program"

New laws not directly impacting the Board's statute, but directly impacts licensees:

Public Law 2016, c. 407 "An Act To Require Training of Mandated Reporters under the Child Abuse Laws"

Summaries:

- Public Law 2016, c. 429 repealed Chapter 16 of the Board's authorizing statutue and replaced it with the new provisions outlined in Chapter 143. This new law also requires that the Board report back to the Legislature by March 1, 2017, regarding its efforts to identify recommendations for further legislative review. Highlights of the statutory changes are outlined in the attached document entitiled "Highlights of Statutory Changes – Public Law 2016, c. 429."
- Public Law 2016, c. 488 amends the Board's new statute by identifying new requirements when prescribing opioid medication. There are certain provisions of the new law that take effect on July 29, 2016, and there are provisions of the new law that will become effective on or after January 1, 2017. The new law also provides exceptions to the limitations on prescribing opioids, sets new electronic prescribing requirements, and requires 3 hours of continuing education every two years as a condition for dentists who prescribe opioid medication.
- Public Law 2016, c. 407 requires those who are mandated reporters of child abuse to obtain training approved by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services at least once every 4 years.

Informational Letter (cont.) July 19, 2016 Page Two

Implementation status:

- Public Law Public Law 2016, c. 429: there are a number of new statutory provisions that will take effect immediately and a number of provisions that will require further rulemaking provisions. The attached document outlines those provisions that need further rulemaking.
- Public Law 2016, c. 488: the Board will undergo rulemaking to further implement the continuing education requirements. Additional efforts to implement the limitations on prescribing opioid medication is not anticipated at this time. However, a review of Board Rule, Chapter 21 "Use of Controlled Substnatces For Treatment of Pain" which is a joint rule with other regulatory boards will be examined to ensure that prescribing standards are consistent with this new law.
- Public Law 2016, c. 407: the Board does not have any enforcement authority on this new law. However, the Board will make efforts to educate applicants and licensees regarding the new law via email, website, applications, etc. Additionally, at its June 24, 2016 meeting, the Board voted to adopt a policy stating that it will recognize 1 hour of Category II home-study credit for dentists or dental hygienists who complete the mandated training provided by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services ("DHHS") in meeting the biennial registration renewal requirements. However, the following criteria must be met: licensees must complete the DHHS training within the licensure biennium, licensees are responsible for maintaining and producing a record of the training in the event they are audited by the Board, and licensees must be aware of the limit on home-study courses as outlined in Chapter 13.

<u>FMI</u>:

Maine State Legislature: <u>http://legislature.maine.gov/</u> State Agency Rulemaking: <u>http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html</u> Board's Website: <u>http://www.maine.gov/dental/</u>

Should you have any questions regarding this notice, please feel free to contact Penny Vaillancourt, Executive Director, by email at <u>penny.vaillancourt@maine.gov</u> or by using the contact information provided below:

Attach.

HIGHLIGHTS OF STATUTORY CHANGES IDENTIFIED IN PUBLIC LAW 2016, C. 429 (EFF. 7/29/2016)

Section	Subject	Notes
1) 18302	Definitions	• This is a new section
2) 18304 (2)	Unlawful Practice	• This section is not to be confused with the disciplinary action provisions
3) 18305	Licensure Exemptions	Clarifies exemptions to licensure under the Act
4) 18302 (1)	Board Name Change	Board of Dental Practice
5) 18322 (3)	Board Quorum	 Quorum is majority of members serving instead of the number "5" Chair; Vice-Chair
6) 18325 (1)	Disciplinary Action	• Aligned provisions of Title 10, Chapter 901 into Board statute
7) 18345	Dental Hygiene Licensure and Authorities	 Establishes a baseline license with the ability to add authorities as outlined below: LAN and NOX Permits Independent Practice Public Health Dental Hygienist Dental Hygiene Therapist Provisional DHT
<mark>8) 18347</mark>	Endorsement	 Two pathways Licensed at least 3 years (substantially equivalent – examine license laws) Licensed less than 3 years (substantially similar – examine individual's qualifications for licensure)
<mark>9) 18348</mark>	Registrations	 Dentist Externships Denturists Externships Dentists - Sedation/general anesthesia training Dental Hygienists - LAN/NOX training
10) 18349	Renewals and Reinstatements	 Late renewals - licensees can renew up to 90 days with payment of late fee Reinstatements - licensees can reinstate between 91 days and 2 years; board may waive examination requirements Beyond 2 years - meet all new requirements

	Inactive Status	 Clarifying language
<mark>12) 18352</mark>	10 Day Reporting	Change in name
	Requirements	Criminal conviction
		 Disciplinary action
		 Material change in conditions or
		qualifications (i.e. sedation permits,
		supervision changes)
13) Subchapter 4	Scope of Practice Provisions	• No changes in scope; rather scope in
§18371 - §18379		board rules now placed into statute
14) §18371	Scope of Practice - Dentists	Clarifies by including delegation
		authority to unlicensed individuals
<mark>15) §18376</mark>	Scope of Practice – Public	 Puts back into statute a practice category
	Health Dental Hygienists	that will be added as an authority under
		an RDH license
<mark>16) §18345</mark>	IPDH - new pathway to	• The new law provides a pathway for
	licensure	RDH w/public health supervision
		experience to qualify for IPDH licensure

Provisions Removed from former Title 32, Chapter 16

Former Statute Section	Subject	Notes
17) 1084 (4), 1094 (1)	Posting of Licenses	Removed from statute – nullifies Chapter 9 requirement?
18) Various provisions of Chapter 16	Term "dental assistant" or "dental auxiliaries"	 Replaces with the delegation authority to unlicensed persons; however, new statute does maintain "dental assistant" in §18377 (4) – reimbursement provisions
19) 1077	Informal Conferences	• §1077 (1) provisions removed in their entirety as the authority is contained in Title 10, Chapter 901 provisions
20) Various provisions of Chapter 16	Interviews	Removed personal interviews as a requirement for licensure
21) Various provisions of Chapter 16	Fee Caps	• Individual fee caps removed and one fee cap set at \$550.00